Romance Weekly

Standard

RRW

Welcome to this week’s blog hop. Thank you for taking the time to check us out! And here’s the question:

What is the most valuable thing you’ve learned about writing? Who did you learn it from?

That’s easy. “Don’t quit”. And I learned it, really learned it, from my husband.

When I was first starting to submit my work, there were rejections. Most writers go through that – even writers like Stephen King and so many others. But, even knowing that this is to be expected, it still hurts.

And each time a rejection came, and I would get depressed and question whether I should keep going, it was my husband, Bob, who would say “don’t quit”.  And so I would go back to the keyboard and keep writing, even when I wondered if I ever would be published.

One afternoon, I got an e-mail from Black Opal Books. It began just like the others. Thank you for submitting “Captain’s Captive”… Only this time it ended, not with a rejection, but with an offer for a contract. I am surprised the neighbors didn’t call 911 since I was screaming so loud. And crying. Tears of joy.

Captains Captive Cover 600x900

There have been other rejections since that one. But also other contracts. But that first one, the first time a publisher believed in me…

But it never would have happened and I never would have just published my ninth book and started work on number ten if my husband hadn’t regularly said those two words to me. “Don’t quit”.

Best. Advice. Ever.

Just released

Let’s hop on over and hear what the fabulous A.S. Fenichel has learned.

AS Fenichel

http://asfenichel.com/blog

 

Leave a Reply

