Romance Weekly

Standard

rrw

This week’s challenge comes from the incredible Jenna Da Sie:

What do you do when writer’s block hits? Share some tips for our fellow writers.

Nora Roberts said there is no muse. There is work. That changed my attitude. Writing is not a hobby or something I to do to pass the time. It’s my job. A regular job, just like any other except I don’t have to punch a timeclock or deal with a micromanaging supervisor. But, I have deadlines and editors and obligations. So, if I think I’m just being lazy, I sit down at the computer and pull up my big girl panties and write. Nora also said you can’t edit a blank page. So, even if what I write is not so good, at least I have a starting point when I sit back down.

But there are days when the screen in my head goes blank. I am clear that I am not just slacking—I am empty. And, in those times, I do something else. I sew, I clean (ugh), I bake, I make jewelry, I play racquetball – anything that is not writing related. After a day or so, my batteries have recharged and I’m ready to go back to the keyboard. And if I bake (and of course, eat it) and then play racquetball, I don’t even gain any weight.

Sometimes, when I tend to the business end, that’s enough of a break from the actual writing to get the creative juices flowing again.

Bottom line: I am a writer. That is what I do. So, even in the times when I can’t muster the energy, I know it’s just a short and temporary break. And that alone is a comforting thought.

 and coming soon…..

JesterDance_eBook_PROOF5

 

Let’s hop over and check out the incredible Brenda Margriet’s tips….

Brenda Margriet newest

http://www.brendamargriet.com/blog

 

One thought on “Romance Weekly

  1. I love to bake too! Sometimes that does help the block. I like that you write no matter what, even if you don’t like it. I’ll have to keep that in mind and try it next time.

Leave a Reply

