Romance Weekly

Standard

RRW

Yep, this week the challenge came from me, Leslie Hachtel…

What’s your favorite part of the writing process? Research, plotting? And what’s your least favorite part.

I have to say research with a capital “R” is my most favorite. Love it! It is time consuming and labor intensive, but I find it fascinating.  All the information I sift through takes me to different eras, different places, different circumstances. I get to see history as people, not simply as dates or events.

For “The Defiant Bride” I studied the transitional period between Henry VII and Henry VIII. I learned some of why Henry VIII was the way he was. And how the two kings affected my heroine and hero.

DefiantBride_140x210

For “Captain’s Captive”, I had to learn about ships in the 1700’s, the dangerous ocean voyage to the colonies and how a kitchen worked aboard. I read about life in the new land: what it looked like, how people lived then.

Captains Captive Cover 600x900

“The Dream Dancer” took me to the court of James I of England (James VI of Scotland) and even deeper into my own imagination. That is another kind of research all its own.

TDD_eBook_PROOF1a

For “Texas Summer” the research on the setting was minimal, since I’d lived in New Mexico and the environment is similar, but I had to explore the darker side of human behavior.

TexasSummer-ByLeslieHachtel-200x300

Most challenging of all: the soon to be released “Hannah’s War”. The facts of the Civil War had to be accurate and I spent countless hours making sure the references were right. Loved it!

HannahsWar_150dpi_eBook

What do I like the least? Can’t think of a thing except maybe the time between writing ‘The End’ and waiting for the book to be published. I even like editing. I know, I know, but I do. It makes the books better and I love that.

I’m finishing the sequel to “The Dream Dancer” called “Emma’s Dance” and then onto a romantic suspense. My research for the new one starts with a class with the local police. Did I mention I love being a writer!

Now let’s see what the incredibly talented A.S. Fenichel favors and doesn’t…..

AS Fenichel

http://asfenichel.com/blog

 

2 thoughts on “Romance Weekly

  1. “I get to see history as people” – what a great perspective, Leslie! So often we forget that during all this huge historical events, people were just getting through the day, with the same concerns we have today.

Leave a Reply

